December 30, 2007

Welcome to the latest feature on our website – the webmaster’s blog.  One of the more popular things going on the internet right now is blogging, so as I sat at my computer on a rare lazy Sunday morning, I thought well, our website should have one, too.

What is a blog, you ask?  Well, there are a lot of definitions, but basically it is an online journal where you can post thoughts about anything under the sun – kind of a diary that the whole world can see.  At this point I’m not sure how often I will post entries, or what they will be about, so I ask that you check our website often (shameless plug) to find out.

As I make this first entry, I have just a couple of things on my mind.  First of all, I mentioned this in the bulletin board, but I think it bears repeating – during the last couple of weeks I had the opportunity to see some real talent – the gifted students, teachers, staff and parents of our school.  I first saw the float that was created for the Chester Christmas parade – what a thing of beauty!  (Note: if someone has a photo of the float that you can send me for the website, I would greatly appreciate it).  It certainly deserved the second place award that it received.  Then about ten days later, I saw the Christmas program, and again I was floored.  What a performance!  I can’t imagine the hours that were invested to put on something like this (I’m sure Sydney Haberberger had to put her life on hold for at least a month to memorize all of those lines). 

I mention this because I think our school is a true success story – doing so many wonderful things with limited resources.  The dedication of our teachers, maintenance, kitchen and other support staff, Mrs. Robinson, Fr. Gene, school board, and the many generous parents, friends and parishioners, is something to be celebrated!  Our school, as most small schools do, faces many challenges to keep the doors open, but the positives far outweigh the negatives, so maybe as a New Year’s resolution, we can resolve to support our school in any way that we feel we can, whether it be physically, financially, or especially prayerfully.

On the lighter side:  Santa was very good to me this Christmas, and one of the things he brought me was a book titled “Church Signs Across America”.  You have probably seen some of these in your travels – clever messages that churches put on their signs to draw people to their congregations.  These were some of my favorites:

– Searching for a new look? Have your faith lifted here.

– Don’t wait for six strong men to take you to church!

– Let’s meet at my house Sunday before the game – God.

– Eternity: smoking or non smoking?

– Our Sundays are better than Dairy Queen.

– Exposure to the Son may prevent burning.

– Give your troubles to God – He’s up all night anyway!

– Thank God for dirty dishes.  At least you have food!

I’ll share some more of these in another entry.  I think I have rambled enough for one morning.  Let me know what you think about our website or if there is something you would like to see on our website by e-mailing me: webmaster@maryhoc.org.  God Bless You, and have a happy and safe new year!

Leave a comment